Drought ends at Seymour for Lance Arneson

first_imgBy Dave PanskeSEYMOUR, Wis. (Aug. 30) – Lance Arneson won his first Budweiser IMCA Modified feature at Seymour Speedway since June 12 of 2011 Sunday night.Arneson worked from the second row and into the lead after the opening lap followed by Trevor Spaulding, Jerry Wilinski, Chad Guyette, Rob Charapata and Konnor Wilinski.   A spin brought out the only caution of the race on lap 2, and Arneson continued to set the pace after the restart.Jerry Wilinski moved into the runner-up spot and point leader Eric Scribner followed into third. On lap 5, Scribner took over the second spot with Eric Arneson and Chad Bartel moving forward.Scribner closed in on the leader but after a couple laps, Arneson settled into a solid pattern on the out­side, Scribner did the same on the inside and the margins stayed pretty much unchanged to the finish. Bartel ran out of laps to mount a serious challenge and finished third.Travis Van Straten was finally able to inch ahead and finally into sole procession of the lead on lap 16 of the Coors Light IMCA Stock Car feature and drove off to collect his eighth local feature win and 31st for the season.Chas Van Ooyen came home second with Kyle Frederick third.Jeremy Cota took over the top spot on lap 11, then sped off and collected his fourth straight fea­ture win and eighth local O’Reilly Auto Parts IMCA Northern SportMod victory of the season.Travis Arenz worked by on the final lap to take second from Russell Franks, who completed his strongest finish in third.last_img read more

Rangers, Tornadoes, Akwa Utd through to Round of 32

first_imgAITEO CUPRangers International FC of Enugu are through to the Round of 32 of the AITEO Cup competition after the Organising Committee of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) threw out opponents Kogi United following Wednesday’s abandoned encounter in Lokoja.The home boys were leading 2-1 before there was spectator –encroachment on the pitch of Confluence Stadium after the referee awarded a penalty kick to the reigning NPFL champions. Rangers have therefore joined the teams that will enter the pot for friday’s draw for the Round of 32 games, during the Sports Tonight programme of Channels Television.In other matches played yesterday, Niger Tornadoes edged an all-NPFL teams’ encounter against El-Kanemi Warriors 2-1 in Lokoja, while Akwa United downed hosts Halfa FC of Jigawa 3-1 in Hadejia.Adamawa United Feeders also reached the Round of 32 following a 2-1 triumph over Cynosure FC of Rivers, and FC Abuja thrashed Niger Tornadoes Feeders 4-1 in Lokoja.RESULTSAdamawa Utd Feeders 2-1 Cynosure FCNiger Tornadoes 2-1 El-KanemiHalfa FC 1-3 Akwa UnitedTornadoes Feeders 1-4 FC AbujaShare this:FacebookRedditTwitterPrintPinterestEmailWhatsAppSkypeLinkedInTumblrPocketTelegramlast_img read more